weeklydelights

Croissants Attempt #3

Leave a comment

wpid-img_20141002_154557.jpg

After attempt 1 and attempt 2, I have gotten a bit more comfortable with managing the croissant dough. I have noticed that the change in butter made a huge difference but I am still struggling on the lamination method which is where you incorporate the butter into the dough. If it’s not done correct, the buttery layers expand the way it is supposed to. Since I have only been making butter croissants, I decided that for this attempt I use some of the dough and make pain au raisin (raisin bread). I’ve managed to make the pastry cream and incorporated it along with the raisins into the dough. However, I have not been able to get the golden brown colour on the top of the bread despite using a lot of egg wash. It is a bit of a mystery to me but I am hoping to solve it on my next try.

 

Leave a Reply

