weeklydelights

Japanese Hamburger Stake

Leave a comment

img_20170227_181359.jpg

Normally I do more baking than cooking but after watching a Japanese cartoon (Chibi Maruko-chan) I was inspired to attempt to make the Hamburger Steak that Maruko-chan’s mom. I am not sure about you guys out there but a lot of my initial exposure from food steamed from cartoons as a kid.

The hamburger steak is a like a hamburger but without the buns and I think the best comparison to it would be the Salisbury steak. Whenever I test out recipes, I often adjust it depending on preference and what ingredients that I have available. For this experience, I referenced a recipe from Just One Cook Book but since I did not have red wine on hand I referenced the sauce portion from Japanese Cooking 101.

One of the troubles that I encountered was making sure that it was thoroughly cooked due to the thickness of the patty. Both recipes mentioned that you need to cover the pan for roughly 5 minutes to make sure that the patties are cooked thoroughly which was something I skipped initially. It was a bad mistake especially when you are trying to make something the first time. It was a lesson learned for sure!

 

Leave a Reply

