weeklydelights

Strawberry Cupcakes

Leave a comment

IMG_20170606_233801

With summer finally upon us, I decided it was time to make good use of ingredients that are in season. I personally prefer coffee flavoured cupcakes but my nieces just love strawberries. I have found that strawberry flavoured cupcakes usually just involved strawberry icing and a vanilla bottom which is a bit boring. After doing some research, I found this recipe where it requires fresh strawberries. The recipe was easy to follow but I had to decrease the amount of icing sugar in the buttercream icing. I found that with 3.5 cups of icing sugar was just too sweet especially with the strawberry purée but the caveat is that with icing, you need the sugar to stabilize the frosting.

For a first attempt, it was better than expected but I think after testing this recipe out, I will need to make some tweaks especially with the strawberry base.

IMG_20170606_215325

Although strawberry purée was integrated in the batter, I found that the flavour was not strong enough but adding additional purée would generate more liquid. If I were to make this again, I think I will need to simmer the purée over the stove in order to reduce excess liquid. The summer has just started so hopefully I will get the chance to attempt this again…..

Leave a Reply

